2018 Board Changes and Movements

The South African Chapter of IIBA recently held its Annual General Meeting.  During this meeting, changes to the board for 2018 were proposed and ratified by all in attendance.

The changes ratified included the resignation of Ryan Folster from the position of President, the appointment of Lucy Davies as the President and the appointment of Edward Ngubane to the board as Secretary. 

Board members are elected into office by the members of the chapter and are appointed to serve for two years. 

Following his two years of service, the outgoing president, Ryan Folster, had the following to say.  “I have had the privilege of being part of the board as President over the last two years. The chapter has gone from strength to strength through the support of the members and I look forward to seeing the future impact of the chapter on the profession locally as well as internationally”.  He added that he would not be completely removed from the chapter as he has agreed to serve on the non-executive committee, supporting the board where needed. 

Lucy Davies, who has stepped up to take over the President role is not a new face and comes with a great deal of passion as well as experience.  She is currently a Senior Business Analysis Specialist at Nedbank and has been on the board in various roles over the past 10 years.  Lucy had the following to say after her appointment: “It was thrilling to accept the challenge to be president of the IIBA-SA board. I am motivated and excited to be involved in guiding Business Analysis forward in these changing and exhilarating times. It will be exciting to see what opportunities are out there and how we move through the challenges. ”

Edward Ngubane who is head of business analysis for DVT Gauteng, Business Enablement Division, will be taking on the Secretary role.  Edward has been an active member and supporter of the chapter over the past years. "I am honoured to be on the IIBA-SA board and I look forward to working with an incredible team to continue to drive the chapter forward in South Africa," says Ngubane.

Chardi Potgieter, Giovanni Focaraccio and François Combrinck will remain on the board in their respective portfolios, with a year of service left. 

The next board election will be at the end of 2018 when a new board will be elected.

We call on all the members of the community to support the new board as they continue to serve the Business Analysis community and drive the mission of IIBA locally in South Africa.